Set of illustrations of iconic landmarks, buildings and shop fronts around Poplar and Roman Road. As part of an ongoing project, the collection will continue growing, with more images of the East of London.
The illustrations are available as posters and postcards on the Poplar Union website.

Poplar Baths on the East India Dock Road in Poplar, London is a former public bath house and Grade II listed building that was constructed in 1933 and closed to the public in 1988. The original Poplar Baths opened in 1852, costing £10,000. It was built to provide public wash facilities for the East End's poor as a result of the Baths and Washhouses Act 1846. A campaign to restore the baths won the support of Tower Hamlets Council in 2010 to create a new leisure centre incorporating a swimming pool, gymnasium and affordable housing on adjacent land. The site reopened in July 2016.
Chrisp Street Market is the central marketplace and town centre[1] of Poplar and is located in the London Borough of Tower Hamlets. It was the first purpose-built pedestrian shopping area in the United Kingdom, rebuilt as part of the 1951 Festival of Britain and is directly connected onto the high street, East India Dock Road.
The East End is home to countless traditional pie shops that have been serving the authentic Cockney classic the same way for generations. Run by Brian Boulter and his son David, EastEnders Pie n’ Mash in Poplar is one of these shops working hard to keep this tradition alive.
The Lansbury Estate is a large, one of the largest estates in London. It is named after George Lansbury, a Poplar councillor and Labour Party of the estate started shortly before 1951 as part of the Festival of Britain, with Frederick Gibberd's Chrisp Street Market area and the Trinity Independent Chapel. The construction of the housing and other land-uses extended eastwards, with the final phase, at Pigott Street, finished in 1982, near Bartlett Park.
The Sabbarton Arms was situated at 99 Upper North Street. This pub was present by 1869. It had been a Watney’s Brewery pub, acquired by Belhaven in around 1990. It closed very soon afterwards but was revived briefly as a free house under the name Gambols and closed in 1999. The former pub is now in private residential use.
Arber & Co is located on the Roman Road in east London. The grandfather of current owner Gary Arber founded the firm in 1897. Arber & Co has a rich history. Arber’s grandmother Emily was a friend of Emmeline Pankhurst, and the Wharfedale printing press that produced posters for the suffragette movement is still in the basement.